NJPW: Masahiro Chono and Hiroyoshi Tenzan vs. Shiro Koshinaka and Takao Omori(January 4, 2006)

I want to try to review all the Wrestle Kingdom main events while they’re free on New Japan World.

(Update: Turns out this wasn’t the main event of this show. For whatever reason, New Japan World doesn’t have the real main event of Brock Lesnar vs. Shinsuke Nakamura.)

This is the first – and probably only – one of these matches that features a wrestler I’ve seen in person. I saw Takao Omori wrestle in Harley Race’s World League Wrestling as champion at least once. I got his autograph on a WLW water bottle, but I don’t think I got a photo with him.

This match is pretty dull for the most part. I don’t find any of these guys all that interesting. Maybe in their respective primes, Chono and Tenzan were a good team, but I think I prefer Tenzan and Kojima together. I’ve never liked Koshinaka’s pants or his butt-based offense. And despite being the first Japanese wrestler I ever saw live, Omori has always just been kinda there to me.

It doesn’t help that they don’t work the standard tag formula. It seems like they will once Omori piledrives Tenzan on the apron (his head totally misses) and does a running Axe Bomber on the ramp. Tenzan looks to be in perfect condition to be the babyface in peril. But, no, he tags out in a few minutes to little reaction, and Chono just comes in with some stomps.

From there, they just do moves to each other, some of which get pops. The finishing stretch is fine, and the crowd’s into parts of it, but it doesn’t seem like they’ve done anything to earn anyone caring. There’s no story, no teases, and no payoffs. Chono pins Koshinaka with a shining Yakuza kick as Koshinaka runs in for one of his butt bumps. Big deal.

Winners – Chono and Tenzan

Rating – Bad

Leave a Reply

