Notes on the End of the NWL STL

Hashtag made me think it said “HANARACHY” for a moment there.

 

Here are the facts:

  • Major Baisden announced last Friday (June 10) that the National Wrasslin’ League wouldn’t be running anymore shows in St. Louis effective immediately.
  • Major Baisden’s Facebook live video Q&A
  • Among the reasons for cutting ties were issues with attendance as well as problems finding a big enough venue where they could run on a Friday or Saturday. Baisden was also upset with the content of a local radio show the company was sponsoring.
  • All full-time staff will stay employed, and part-time wrestlers can still be involved if they wish.
  • NWL KC has been doing well and will continue on its regular schedule.
  • Maverick will remain the NWL STL Champion (he won it on a show that hasn’t aired yet, so I haven’t reviewed it).
  • The NWL still hopes to expand to other markets.
  • NWL STL commissioner Matt Jackson (FKA Pierre Abernathy) will honor his contract and continue to work with the NWL, but he also plans to start something new in the St. Louis area.
  • Matt Jackson’s Facebook live video Q&A
  • Even though he started pushing the #Anarchy hashtag, he says that he won’t resurrect St. Louis Anarchy in the way it was before.
  • Jackson hopes to sit down with Major Baisden when he’s in town for the next NWL KC show on June 24 and hash things out.
  • Luke Raven of Pro Wrestling Iowa wrote a very good article about it all called The Rise and Fall of NWL St. Louis. It’s better than anything I could write here, so I’m just doing bullet points.

Here are some tweets from various wrestlers. Please pardon the language…

Most of the STL guys weren’t happy:

Danny Adams (FKA Adam Ryan) seemed chill:

And it’s hard to bring Buddy Shepherd down:

On the Kansas City side, KC Champion Dak Draper stayed in character:

Jeremy Wyatt made a simple observation:

STL Champion Maverick seems to be rolling with it:

My Opinion:

It sucks that we won’t get to see where some of the NWL STL storylines were going. It sucks that there seems to be a lot of blame going around and bad blood developing between St. Louis guys and NWL management. Most of all, it sucks that people lost work.

I do think Major Baisden could’ve handled things better than just pulling the plug and telling the talent at the same time as he told the Internet. I also think he could’ve been a bit more respectful to the St. Louis fans and employees. But there’s likely enough blame to go around on all sides that I’m not privy to. I’m not going to throw the baby out with the bathwater and encourage people to boycott anything. I’m still going to review NWL KC matches, as well as whatever else I get to see from NWL STL and/or the promotion that rises from it’s ashes. Even though I’m not really a fan of the city vs. city gimmick, I still hope they succeed and can branch out to other markets.

I really hope that Major Baisden and Matt Jackson can sit down and work things out, on camera or off, in a respectful manner. And I hope Matt’s new venture gives the fans and wrestlers what they want in the wakes of both NWL STL and St. Louis Anarchy. Good wrestling is good for everybody.

As an aside, my reviews are coming along slowly recently because my shoot life has been fairly active over the last couple of weeks. I consider this a good thing. The next time I’m home with nothing to do, I’ll probably get back to working through my backlog of matches.

Leave a Reply

